TOWN OF TUNBRIDGE

Tuesday February 27th, 2024 at 6:00pm via Zoom and Town Offices

Meeting called to order at 6:06pm

Present: Mike McPhetres, Mariah Cilley, John O'Brien, Gary Mullen, Rebecca Hoyt, Gabe Freitag, Rob Howe, Helen O'Donnell, Amy Frost, Kay Jorgensen, Brenda, Liz Williams, Kathi Terami, Izzy Provoncha, Laura Sokoloski, Randy Chapman, Deb Mullen, Kathleen Stavaski, Leeland Whitehouse, Anissa Morrison

Pre-Town Meeting

Moderator Provoncha opens the meeting. Kay Jorgensen asks what PILOT means. The treasurer states that it is a payment from the State for the property that they own in town. They are not sent a tax bill, they send us a payment that they see fit for their property. Building Rent is just the Town Hall. Jorgensen also asks that the Selectboard state what ARPA stands for at Town Meeting so that people know what it stands for. Jorgensen asks if we are charging for the ballfield. Treasurer Hoyt states that yes we do, but that it is up to the Recreation Department to handle that. On the Highway Budget there are two minus amounts. Hoyt states that it was paid in the previous budget, but the check was voided in this fiscal year so it shows it a negative account. Jorgensen asks about the increase to the Town Nurse budget and wondered if we were increasing her hours. O'Donnell asks about the difference in the Selectboard Report versus the proposed budget. The numbers are different by a few dollars for the general fund and \$25,000 in the highway fund. The Selectboard states that the budget proposal spreadsheet is the correct figure. O'Donnell asks about the Noise Ordinance and what brought that about. Mullen states that over the years we have been having complaints and our policing has said that if there is no ordinance then we have no ability to move forward with fines. Cilley states that if the voters approve moving forward with the Noise Ordinance, it does not become automatically become enacted, it just means that we start the process of moving forward with the Noise Ordinance. Rob Howe asks about Selectboard seat and wants to know if anyone is rerunning. John O'Brien states that he is. Deb Mullen is also running for her seat as Lister.

Meeting adjourned at 6:52pm.

McPhetres makes a motion to recess the Selectboard meeting and enter into Board of Abatement Hearing.

Board of Abatement Hearing

Board of Abatement hearing is called to order at 6:54pm. Helen O'Donnell makes a motion to appoint Rob Howe as chair. All aye. Rob introduces the board and asks Stavaski to begin her testimony. Stavaski gives background on her ongoing issue with taxes.

Chair Rob Howe states that we will enter into executive session and discuss and will send a letter to let Stavaski know our determination.

Mariah Cilley makes a motion to enter executive session. Mullen seconds. All aye. Executive session entered at 7:16pm.

Executive session concluded at 7:34pm. The Board makes a motion to not abate the taxes. Mullen makes a motion to adjourn. McPhetres seconds. Motion adjourned at 7:40pm

McPhetres makes a motion to bring the Selectboard Meeting back in motion at 7:50.

Road Report

McPhetres states that Thomas Hoyts truck got the oil pan replaced on his truck but when it was in the shop they noticed something wrong with the turbo so that is back down in the shop. Pickett's is crushing. The loader's piston got re-welded and is now back in working order. The trees on Falls Hill are being cut this week.

Opening of RFB for BRIC Grant

No requests were received.

Other Business:

- Town Hall Steps: Mullen states that he spoke with Mike Howe and he has started fixing the steps.
- CVSWMD Hazardous Waste Event: The Selectboard approves the hazardous waste date.
- Request for Financial Support for Ty View Farm & Camps: The Selectboard asks the Farm to reapply for appropriations in the fall.

Approve Warrants:

McPhetres makes a motion to let Mullen sign the orders. O'Brien seconds. All aye. So moved. All warrants were signed and approved.

Approve Minutes:

Minutes signed and approved for December 27th 2023 and February 13th 2024.

McPhetres makes a motion to adjourn. O'Brien seconds. Meeting adjourned at 8:05pm.

Gary Mullen, Chair

Mike McPhetres, Vice Chair

John O'Brien, Clerk